Couillard unveils his cabinet

West Island well represented with Kelley, Leitao, Coiteux


Philippe Couillard has officially become Quebec premier after being sworn in at a ceremony this afternoon.

His deputy premier will be Lise Theriault, who will also be public security minister.

Rookie politician Carlos Leitao, a former economist with the Laurentian Bank, has been named finance minister — the first of a handful of new ministers to take their oaths of office in both French and English.

In fact, he was one of three West Island MNAs to be named to cabinet — the others being Martin Coiteux and Geoffrey Kelley.

Couillard's Liberals won 70 of the province's 125 ridings in the April 7 election.

Barring unforeseen circumstances, he should be premier for more than four years because the next general election is set for October 2018.

Here are the members of Philippe Couillard's new cabinet:

• Philippe Couillard, premier and minister responsible for the Saguenay-Lac-St-Jean region.
• Carlos Leitao : finance minister
• Lise Thériault: deputy premier and public security minister
• Jean-Marc Fournier : minister of intergovernmental affairs, Canadian francophonie, reform of democratic institutions and access to information
• Pierre Moreau: municipal affairs, minister responsible for the Montérégie
• Martin Coiteux: Treasury Board president and government administration
• Jacques Daoust: economic development, innovation and exports
• Sam Hamad: labour and minister responsible for the Quebec City region
• Pierre Paradis: agriculture, food and fisheries and minister responsible for the Eastern Townships
• Francine Charbonneau: family, seniors, minister responsible for the fight against intimidation and minister responsible for Laval.
• Stéphane Billette: government whip
• Nicole Ménard: president of the Liberal caucus
• Hélène David: culture and communications; minister responsible for the promotion and protection of the French language
• Stéphanie Vallée: justice, status of women and minister responsible for the Outaouais Region
• Christine St-Pierre: international affairs, Francophonie
• Yves Bolduc: education, leisure, sports, post-secondary education, research and science; minister responsible for the North Shore region.
• Kathleen Weil: immigration, diversity and inclusion
• Gaétan Barrette: health and social services
• David Heurtel: environment, sustainable development, and the fight against climate change
• Dominique Vien: tourism, minister responsible for Chaudiere-Appalaches
• Robert Poeti: transport minister and minister responsible for Montreal
• Pierre Arcand: energy, natural resources, the Plan Nord and the Laurentides and Lanaudière regions
• François Blais: employment and social solidarity
• Laurent Lessard: forests, wildlife and parks, and minister responsible for Central Quebec
• Geoffrey Kelley: native affairs
• Jean D'Amour: maritime strategy implementation, minister responsible for the Lower St. Lawrence, Gaspé and Îles-de-la-Madeleine?.
• Lucie Charlebois: responsible for the rehabilitation and protection of youth, public health
• Luc Blanchette: mines, Abitibi-Témiscamingue and Quebec's north
•Jean-Denis Girard: small and medium-sized businesses, regional economic development, Mauricie

Leave a comment:

showing all comments · Subscribe to comments
  1. betty posted on 04/23/2014 04:39 PM
    I am surprised that David Birenbaum did not get the education portfolio considering all the experience he has in that field.
showing all comments

Share this article: