Couillard's cabinet: who's in, who's out

Philippe Couillard's new Liberal government will be sworn in this afternoon, but we're getting a picture of what the new premier's cabinet will look like.

According to multiple reports, some of the high-profile nominations are no-brainers: Gaétan Barrette is expected to be named health minister, West Island rookie MNA Carlos Leitao will be the new finance minister, Martin Coiteux will be the Treasury Board president, and Jacques Daoust — the third member of Couillard's so-called economic dream team — will be named to economic development.

Pierre Moreau, who ran against Couillard during last year's Liberal leadership run, is expected to get the municipal affairs portfolio.

Among the others getting cabinet posts: Sam Hamad, Lise Thériault, Pierre Paradis, and Francine Charbonneau and Kathleen Weil.

Among the big names being left out: Gilles Ouimet, Julie Boulet and Geoff Kelley.

The cabinet is expected to contain 26 members, three more than the outgoing Marois cabinet.

The swearing-in ceremony in the Red Room of the National Assembly will happen at 2 p.m today.

Leave a comment:

· Subscribe to comments
Be the first to comment here. You DO NOT need to be a member to comment.

Share this article: